100th Anniversary

The Ed Smith community is celebrating 100 years during the 2019-2020 school year. Events include:

  • October 11 – Ed Smith School Centennial Celebration: Open House. Ribbon cutting, tours lead by Nottingham Honor Society Students of the newly renovated Ed Smith School and activities for families and alumni.
  • November 20 – Ed Smith School Inclusion Talent Show
  • February 28 – Ed Smith School Centennial Celebration: Film Screening Regular Lives and Inclusion Now
  • March 13-15 – Nottingham HS Musical
  • March 19-20 – Ed Smith Middle School Musical
  • April 24 – TBA, Potential Earth Day (April 22nd) Event
  • May 15-17 – Edward Smith School Centennial Celebration: 100 Year Gala Weekend!
Ribbon cutting celebrating the finished renovation

Want to get involved?

  • Share a story or two from the years you attended Edward Smith School. You can send stories to Paul Harvey at luludoodah@aol.com.
  • Send historical and cultural recipes for a cookbook spanning the 100 years of Ed Smith’s existence, to celebrate the history and diversity of our school community. We are especially interested in historical recipes, recipes connected to cafeteria experiences or your time at Ed Smith, and recipes that showcase the cultural diversity of Ed Smith. You can send recipes to Kate Saufley at kesaufley@yahoo.com or (315) 802-8943 (text or call), or drop off a copy of a recipe in the Main Office.

More ways to help with 100th Anniversary activities and events:

  • Coordinate the BIG 100th Gala – entertainment, setup, volunteers, and more
    Contact Principal Barber at sbarber@scsd.us
  • Coordinate teacher ideas into monthly activities connected to the anniversary for students and classrooms
    Contact Principal Barber at sbarber@scsd.us
  • Coordinate family events including pot-luck dinner, fashion show and play excerpts, and video
    Contact Karen Cordano at karencordano@aol.com
  • Design a new tile mural that will be installed in the renovation, and part of the ribbon cutting ceremony
    Contact Mrs. Mahan & Anne Cofer at acofer2013@gmail.com
  • Coordinate Fashion Show through the decades at Nottingham and at the Gala
    Contact Kay Scott at kayascott@yahoo.com
  • Coordinate community recipes over the past 100 years for a final Cookbook for sale at the Gala
    Contact Kate Saufley at kesaufley@yahoo.com
  • Sell 100th Gear and student logo winners on gear, memorabilia & branding
    Contact Emily Hart-Gorman at ehart-Gorman@scsd.us
  • Collaborate to make a compilation of video footage taken over the years
    Contact Tula Goenka & Myron Holmes at mholmes@scsd.us
  • Recruit Ed Smith alumni at Nottingham as volunteers for events and activities
    Contact Don Little at dlittle@scsd.us
  • Develop an alumni database for invitations and communications, and collect names with biographies for Wall of Fame at the Gala
    contact Virginia F. and Kate T. at vfelleman@gmail.com
  • Network through Nostalgic Syracuse for archival research, alumni referral to invite list
    Contact Kate Tricome at ktricome@scsd.us
  • Solicit ads/sponsors for various events and publications, like the Gala program, fashion show, and cookbook
    Contact Principal Barber at sbarber@scsd.us
  • Help submit the school to the Registry of National Historic Places
    Contact John Auwaerter at johnauwaerter@gmail.com
  • Design promotional materials for all events and PR with media and SCSD
    Contact Lessie Williams at lwilliams2@scsd.us